Australian points-earning credit cards
Cards that earn frequent flyer or transferable rewards points, with the earn rate, sign-up bonus and annual fee from each issuer. Want a specific program? See best cards for Qantas FF, Velocity.
Last updated
The American Express Platinum Card
- Annual fee
- $1,450
- Sign-up bonus
- 200,000 pts$5,000 / 90d
- Network
- Amex
Charge card. Earns Amex Membership Rewards directly. Confirmed on official Amex AU Platinum comparison page: up to 2.25 Membership Rewards points per A$1 on eligible everyday purchases; 1 point per A$1 on purchases at government bodies in Australia. No cap on points earned (account must be current and in good standing). Points transferable to airline/hotel partners. Sign-up bonus 200,000 Membership Rewards points for new Card Members who apply online by 25 August 2026, are approved, and spend A$5,000+ on eligible purchases in the first 3 months.
Last updated
American Express Explorer Credit Card
- Annual fee
- $395
- Sign-up bonus
- —
- Network
- Amex
Earns Amex Membership Rewards. Confirmed on official Amex AU page: 2 Membership Rewards points per A$1 on eligible everyday purchases (excluding government bodies); 1 point per A$1 on government bodies. No published points cap. Points transferable to airline/hotel partners.
Last updated
ANZ Rewards Black Credit Card
- Annual fee
- $375
- Sign-up bonus
- 130,000 pts$5,000 / 90d
- Network
- Visa
Earns ANZ Reward Points (bank-proprietary; not in known currency list). Confirmed on official ANZ page: 2 ANZ Reward Points per A$1 on eligible purchases up to and including A$5,000 per statement period, then 1 point per A$1 above A$5,000. Total annual fee A$375 = A$320 Annual Fee + A$55 Rewards Program Service Fee.
Last updated
Westpac Altitude Rewards Black Credit Card
- Annual fee
- $295
- Sign-up bonus
- 100,000 pts$12,000 / 365d
- Network
- Mastercard
Earns Westpac Altitude Rewards points (bank-proprietary; not in known currency list). Confirmed on official Westpac page: 2 Altitude points per A$1 on everyday domestic purchases (supermarkets, department stores, petrol, dining, utilities); 3 Altitude points per A$1 on international spend; 1 point per A$1 on all other purchases. Once A$10,000 is spent in a statement cycle, 0.5 Altitude points per A$1 on further eligible purchases. Standard card fee A$295 p.a.; discounted first year A$200 new customers / A$149 existing Westpac customers.
Last updated
Macquarie Black Credit Card
- Annual fee
- $249
- Sign-up bonus
- —
- Network
- Visa
Earns Macquarie Reward Points (bank-proprietary; not in known currency list; redeemable for eGift cards / cashback). Confirmed on official Macquarie page: 2 Macquarie Reward points per A$1 spent up to and including A$10,000 per statement period, then 0.5 Macquarie Reward points per A$1 over A$10,000. Points redeemable for eGift cards or cashback into an eligible Macquarie account. Annual fee A$249 (charged on activation, then annually on the anniversary). No standing sign-up bonus advertised. Note: Macquarie's former Qantas-earning cards are discontinued; current cards earn proprietary Macquarie Rewards only.
Last updated
American Express Business Explorer Credit Card
- Annual fee
- —
- Sign-up bonus
- —
- Network
- Amex
Business card. Earns Amex Membership Rewards directly. Confirmed on official Amex AU business benefits page: 2 Membership Rewards points per A$1 on eligible purchases; 1 point per A$1 on government spend; no cap on points. Points transferable to airline and hotel partners. Annual fee NOT shown on the official benefits page and not confirmed from an official source — left null rather than guessed (third-party sources cite A$149). Sign-up bonus not stated on the official benefits page.
Last updated
ANZ Rewards Platinum Credit Card
- Annual fee
- $149
- Sign-up bonus
- 85,000 pts$3,500 / 90d
- Network
- Visa
Earns ANZ Reward Points (bank-proprietary; not in known currency list; convertible to Velocity Points among other options). Confirmed on official ANZ page: 1.5 ANZ Reward Points per A$1 on eligible purchases up to and including A$2,000 per statement period, then 0.5 ANZ Reward Points per A$1 over A$2,000. Total annual fee A$149 = A$94 Annual Fee + A$55 Rewards Program Service Fee. Current promo offers a choice: Option 1 (Velocity) 60,000 bonus Velocity Points + A$50 back on A$3,500 spend in first 3 months (plus 20,000 more for holding 15+ months); Option 2 (ANZ Rewards) 85,000 extra ANZ Reward Points + A$50 back on A$3,500 spend in first 3 months (plus 40,000 more for holding 15+ months, total up to 125,000). signupBonus field reflects the ANZ Rewards option first-tranche (85,000 ANZ Reward Points).
Last updated
American Express Velocity Platinum Card
- Annual fee
- $440
- Sign-up bonus
- —
- Network
- Amex
Earns Virgin Australia Velocity Points directly. Confirmed on official Amex AU page: 1.25 Velocity Points per A$1 on eligible purchases; 0.5 Velocity Points per A$1 on government spend.
Last updated
Qantas American Express Ultimate Card
- Annual fee
- $450
- Sign-up bonus
- 50,000 pts$5,000 / 90d
- Network
- Amex
Earns Qantas Points directly. Confirmed on official Amex AU qantas-cards-comparison page: 1.25 Qantas Points per A$1 on everyday spend; once 100,000 Qantas Points are earned on the account in a calendar year the everyday earn rate reduces to 1 Qantas Point per A$1. 0.5 Qantas Points per A$1 on government bodies. Includes a A$450 annual Qantas Travel Credit. Sign-up bonus 50,000 Qantas Points on A$5,000 spend in first 3 months (offer applies to online applications approved by 28 July 2026).
Last updated
American Express Qantas Business Rewards Card
- Annual fee
- —
- Sign-up bonus
- —
- Network
- Amex
Business charge card. Earns Qantas Points into a Qantas Business Rewards account (transferable to individual Qantas Frequent Flyer accounts). Confirmed on official Amex AU business benefits page: 1.25 Qantas Points per A$1 on everyday business purchases; 2 Qantas Points per A$1 on selected Qantas products and services; 0.5 Qantas Points per A$1 on government, utilities and insurance. After a total of 500,000 Qantas Points earned in a calendar year, the everyday business earn rate reduces from 1.25 to 0.75 Qantas Points per A$1. Annual fee NOT shown on the official Amex AU benefits or product page (only third-party aggregators cite A$450) — left null rather than guessed. Sign-up bonus not stated on the official benefits page (promotional and time-limited).
Last updated
Qantas American Express Premium Card
- Annual fee
- $249
- Sign-up bonus
- —
- Network
- Amex
Earns Qantas Points directly. Confirmed on official Amex AU qantas-cards page: 1 Qantas Point per A$1 on everyday card purchases; 0.5 Qantas Points per A$1 on government spend.
Last updated
ANZ Frequent Flyer Black Credit Card
- Annual fee
- $425
- Sign-up bonus
- 90,000 pts$5,000 / 90d
- Network
- Visa
Earns Qantas Points directly. Confirmed on official ANZ page: 1 Qantas Point per A$1 on eligible purchases up to and including A$7,500 per statement period, then 0.5 Qantas Points per A$1 above A$7,500. Total annual fee A$425 = A$370 Annual Fee + A$55 Rewards Program Service Fee.
Last updated
NAB Qantas Rewards Signature Card
- Annual fee
- $420
- Sign-up bonus
- 100,000 pts$5,000 / 90d
- Network
- Visa
Earns Qantas Points directly. Confirmed on official NAB page: 1 Qantas Point per A$1 on everyday purchases up to A$5,000 per statement period, then 0.5 Qantas Points per A$1 from A$5,001 to A$20,000 (points capped at A$20,000 spend per statement period). Includes complimentary Qantas Frequent Flyer membership.
Last updated
CommBank Ultimate Awards Credit Card
- Annual fee
- $420
- Sign-up bonus
- 60,000 pts$9,000 / 90d
- Network
- Mastercard
Earns CommBank Awards points (bank-proprietary; not in known currency list) by default, with optional opt-in to earn Qantas Points instead for A$90/year. Confirmed on official CommBank page: 1 Awards point per A$1 on general purchases; 2 Awards points per A$1 at supermarkets, department stores, petrol, dining and utilities; 3 Awards points per A$1 on international transactions. All earn rates apply up to and including A$10,000 per statement period, then 0.5 Awards points per A$1. Qantas opt-in converts at 2.5 Awards points to 1 Qantas Point (0.4 / 0.8 / 1.2 Qantas Points per A$1 respectively). Monthly fee A$35, waived in any statement period with A$4,000+ spend (so up to A$420/year if threshold never met).
Last updated
NAB Rewards Platinum Card
- Annual fee
- $195
- Sign-up bonus
- 80,000 pts$3,000 / 90d
- Network
- Visa
Earns NAB Rewards Points (bank-proprietary; not in known currency list; transferable to airline partners incl. Velocity at 2:1). Confirmed on official NAB page: 1 NAB Rewards Point per A$1 on everyday purchases; 1.5 NAB Rewards Points per A$1 at eligible grocery stores; 2 NAB Rewards Points per A$1 on purchases made online with Webjet. No monthly points cap. Annual fee A$195 p.a. Sign-up bonus 80,000 bonus points on A$3,000 everyday-purchases spend within the first 90 days, plus 20,000 more for keeping the card over 12 months (total up to 100,000). Bonus not available to customers who held any personal NAB Rewards credit card within the previous 24 months.
Last updated
HSBC Star Alliance Credit Card
- Annual fee
- $499
- Sign-up bonus
- —
- Network
- Visa
Earns Star Alliance Points (alliance-proprietary; not in known currency list). Confirmed on official HSBC AU page: 1 Star Alliance Point per A$1 on eligible purchases up to A$3,000 per statement period, then 0.5 Star Alliance Points per A$1 thereafter (uncapped total). Star Alliance Points are redeemable across 7 participating Star Alliance frequent flyer programs (programs not individually listed on the official page; named partners commonly cited include Air Canada Aeroplan, Air New Zealand Airpoints, EVA Air, Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer, South African Airways, Thai Airways, United MileagePlus). Annual fee A$0 first year, then A$499. Welcome offer: fast-track to Star Alliance Gold Status in year one when you spend A$4,000+ on eligible purchases in the first 90 days (status benefit, not a points bonus).
Last updated
Qantas American Express Business Card
- Annual fee
- —
- Sign-up bonus
- —
- Network
- Amex
Business charge card. Earns Qantas Points directly. Confirmed on official Amex AU business benefits page: 1 Qantas Point per A$1 on everyday business spend; 2 Qantas Points per A$1 on selected Qantas products and services; 0.5 Qantas Points per A$1 on government, utilities and insurance. Annual card fee NOT shown on the official Amex AU benefits or product page (only third-party aggregators cite A$450) — left null rather than guessed. Sign-up bonus not stated on the official benefits page.
Last updated
Westpac Altitude Qantas Black Credit Card
- Annual fee
- $370
- Sign-up bonus
- 90,000 pts$6,000 / 90d
- Network
- Mastercard
Earns Qantas Points directly. Confirmed on official Westpac page: 0.8 Qantas Points per A$1 on everyday domestic spend; 1.2 Qantas Points per A$1 on international spend; 0.5 Qantas Points per A$1 on all other eligible purchases, reduced to 0.25 per A$1 after A$10,000 spend in a statement period. Fees: A$295 card fee + A$75 rewards program fee = A$370 p.a. Sign-up bonus up to 150,000 bonus Qantas Points: 90,000 on A$6,000+ eligible spend within 90 days of approval, plus 60,000 on A$6,000+ eligible spend within 90 days of the year-2 card anniversary.
Last updated
Qantas American Express Discovery Card
- Annual fee
- $0
- Sign-up bonus
- —
- Network
- Amex
Earns Qantas Points directly. Confirmed on official Amex AU qantas-cards page: 0.75 Qantas Points per A$1 on everyday card purchases; 0.5 Qantas Points per A$1 on government spend. No annual fee (A$0 p.a.).
Last updated
ANZ Frequent Flyer Platinum Credit Card
- Annual fee
- $295
- Sign-up bonus
- 75,000 pts$2,500 / 90d
- Network
- Visa
Earns Qantas Points directly to your Qantas Frequent Flyer account. Confirmed on official ANZ page: 0.75 Qantas Points per A$1 on eligible purchases up to and including A$3,000 per statement period, then 0.5 Qantas Points per A$1 over A$3,000. Total annual fee A$295 = A$240 Annual Fee + A$55 Rewards Program Service Fee. Sign-up bonus 75,000 bonus Qantas Points + A$100 back when you spend A$2,500 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months from approval.
Last updated
Choosing a points card
- How do points-earning credit cards work in Australia?
- You earn a set number of points per dollar of eligible spend. Some cards earn an airline currency directly (like Qantas or Velocity); others earn a flexible bank currency you can later transfer to an airline. The earn rate, the sign-up bonus and the annual fee together decide how good a card really is.
- Are direct-earn or transferable cards better?
- Direct-earn cards are simpler and lock you into one program. Transferable bank points keep your options open — you choose the airline later, and can wait for transfer bonuses — but transfers are one-way. Pick based on whether you value simplicity or flexibility.
- Do annual fees cancel out the points?
- They can. A high earn rate only pays off if your spend is large enough to outrun the fee, and the headline sign-up bonus usually matters more than the everyday rate in year one. Always weigh the bonus and fee together against how much you'll actually spend.
- Does TravelHacker earn commission on these cards?
- No. These listings are unpaid and link to the issuer's own page. We'll only ever add commercial links once a proper credit-representative arrangement is in place, and they'll be clearly disclosed.